Heads or tails?

If anyone’s as obsessed as I am with TV shows, they’ll know that a new show premiered a couple of days ago, called “How To Get Away With Murder.” The basic premise is a group of intelligent law students attend a scary class actually known as Criminal Law, but the professor calls it – well, you can guess what she calls it. (Hint: it’s the title.) Anyway, the pilot started off with the group of teens deciding what to do with a dead body. The main character, with a spark of brilliance, says they should flip a coin.

He wants to decide his fate…whether he goes to jail or not (potentially) …on a coin flip. Pure genius or just plain foolish? Turns out, the other main character feels the same way I do about the coin flip – it’s a ridiculous idea. However, this scene made me think of how many times we rely on fate or dumb luck. Ever heard of “if it’s meant to be it’ll happen”? That was my mantra for about two weeks. I changed my mantra quickly as I realized I could not rely on things possibly happening, and I had to go out there and take what I wanted in life. Because, after all, the fault is not in our stars, but in ourselves.

A+ to whoever gets the reference.

Just because I don’t like relying on fate, doesn’t mean I don’t believe in it. I’ve had many encounters with fate, such as missing the bus, but ending up missing a traffic jam as well. It’s the little things that I’ll leave up to fate, but as Da Vinci said in one of my favourite movies – “You cannot leave everything to fate, boy. She’s got a lot to do. Sometimes you must give her a hand.”

Leave a Reply

