Thrills, Chills, and CHOCOLATEEEEE

There comes a certain age where you’re considered “too old” for trick-or-treating. This is the age where all of our hopes and dreams collapse, and all we want to do is cry, because there goes the sweetness of free candy. As university students  – the demographic notorious for being broke – this is a concept even harder to swallow than it was back in high school when you were first told you were “too old”.

Some of us (like myself) get lucky – we have younger siblings whom we can steal candy from. This is precisely what I did this Halloween – I took all of my sister’s chocolate. Not as ideal as having my own haul – especially considering she wimped out and came home early due to the rain – but good enough.

Eating all of my sister’s candy, however, was not the only thing I did this Halloween. I went to a midnight showing of Ouija. Horror movie on Halloween, I know, I’m original.

Not much to say about the movie itself, it was a pretty typical horror movie – ghosts, demons, screams, and the open ending perfect for exploitation should the movie do well. What was interesting though, was the fact that the movie theatre was completely full, and everybody was dressed up. The spirit of Halloween lives on, even when people are too old to trick or treat. So what is Halloween? Is it the candy that makes it special? The thrills of a horror movie? A chance to dress up like anything you want (take Katy Perry dressing as a Cheeto for example)?

If you picked D – all of the above – I agree with you. Halloween is special, no other holiday is like it. There are so many different things you can do on Halloween, making it, in my opinion, the most versatile holiday we have.

As Cassandra Peterson says, “If ever there was a holiday that deserves to be commercialized, it’s Halloween. We haven’t taken it away from kids. We’ve just expanded it so that the kid in adults can enjoy it, too.”

P.S. At the end of Halloween comes a special time – COUNTDOWN TO CHRISTMAS

As of Wednesday, November 5th: 50 days

One comment

  1. booksliverpool · November 8, 2014

    I feel bad for the little sister 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

