Lonely Days aka University aka not really, it’s a song by the Bee Gees

Making friends was the easiest in kindergarten. Back then, all you had to bring to the table (literally) was the biggest box of crayons. Things got a little bit harder in elementary school, seeing as your music taste was suddenly under scrutiny or even the clothes you wore. High school was another level of difficulty when music, movies, boys (or girls), and drama infused every inch of friendship. As much as I wish I was above it all, I can honestly say I went through all of that just as much as I’m sure the rest of you did as well.

Despite all of these years and experiences in making friends, nothing prepared me for university. It’s harder to make friends when a) you don’t carry crayons, b) you don’t share your music with anyone, and c) you’re lucky if you have one person in two of your classes . It’s even harder when you commute and aren’t on campus any longer than you have to.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that this year has been kind of lonely. I am in part to blame for that – UTM offers a lot of great opportunities to get involved and do great things and meet great people… and I just haven’t done that. So, like I said in my resolutions post, I’m trying my best to be more involved this semester.

My attempts to be more involved were jump started when my PSY100 class required me to find a lab partner in a class full of strangers. Shout out to my prof for offering to set people up and just like that, I met someone new today. And you know what I realized? It’s just that easy. Just say hi, because people are most likely as lonely as you are.

And you never know, maybe, just maybe you’ll have one of these awesome moments:

I’ll leave you with one of my favourite quotes: “Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.” – Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

