How To Make Yourself Laugh – A Guide From One of the Funniest People in the World

Or at least that’s what I think. I have a couple of friends who might disagree with me, but their opinion is irrelevant. Life sucks sometimes, with the list of things that can piss you off being endless. I mean, I wrote a list of ten, and still couldn’t resist adding an eleventh in a later post. So this is my guide to help you remember to laugh, because sometimes, that’s all you can do.

Step One: Read this blog. Bam, happiness level already increasing.

Step Two: Watch Ellen videos. Or Jimmy Kimmel. Do both. My personal favourites include “Kids, I Ate Your Halloween Candy”, “Celebrities Read Mean Tweets”, “What’s Wrong With These Photos”, and “Clumsy Thumbsy.” Prepare to get lost in YouTube.

Step Three: While you’re lost in Youtube anyway, look up America’s Funniest Home Videos. This is my favourite video ever:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=59NWIOvPqZE

For the record, I did totally stop writing this blog just to watch it again a couple more times. Because that’s how much I love it.

Step Four: This is the most obvious step, but once you’ve extracted yourself from the online world, hang out with your funniest friends. You’d be surprised at what a difference this makes. I know I couldn’t survive a day without my best friends making me laugh, even if it’s just stupid puns that make me cringe just as hard as they make me laugh.

Step Five:  Just laugh. Seriously. Fake it at first. Fake it louder. Soon enough, you’ll feel ridiculous and you’ll want to laugh even more and before you know it, real genuine laughter. You could do this alone at home or go to laugh-yoga. Having done both before, I prefer laugh-yoga. There’s just something so ridiculously awesome about a room full of strangers laughing just for the sake of laughing.

Alternatives: This blog was inspired by my sudden amusement at the word “obituary” (not even going to get into the irony, just sound it out, you’ll understand), so I guess the best advice I can give you is take the little bursts of humour whenever they come. Whether they’re at someone slipping on ice in front of you, a word that sounds funny after you say it too many times, or fake laughing until it becomes real, I promise it’ll be great.

“A day without laughter is a day wasted.” – Charlie Chaplin

Leave a Reply

