Catching Up Again

When graduating from high school, it’s very rare that you’ll go to the same university as your best friends. If you’re lucky, maybe you will. If you’re anything like me, however, your best friends will decide that the best option for them isn’t at UTM (silly, right?) and will go to another schools. Over the break, we all got together and compared experiences. I thought I’d give you a glimpse of what it’s like to have one best friend attending Ryerson (downtown Toronto, not far away from me) and the other attending Wayne State (Michigan, slightly farther away from me).  So, I asked a few questions, touching on a few topics, and got some interesting answers.

A: Me

K: friend at Ryerson

J: friend at Wayne State

On location, location, location: 

A: Middle of the forest. It’s pretty cool, I feel like I’m a movie sometimes, with all of the nature. Not to mention it feels secluded, like our own little haven. Or hell, depending on your classes. It’s nice being surrounded by fellow students, anyway, like we’re all going through the same things.

K: It smells like catpiss. Our campus is the opposite  – downtown Toronto is always bustling and busy. It’s open and always bustling, we have a skating rink, there are free things sometimes and you’ll see people filming projects and being productive, and it’s really cool. Oh, and then there’s the believe guy.

A: The what?

K: The believe guy. Sometimes he says you’re going to hell.

J: Wayne State is similar actually. It’s a huge campus, with buildings all over midtown Detroit. It’s in the cultural centre of Detroit, museums and libraries everywhere. We get invitations and sometimes free tickets to shows and events around Detroit.

A: I’ve seen 8 Mile. TELL ME YOU’RE SAFE.

J: No, no. The campus is pretty safe given the location, has its own police force and everything. The parking is awful. Some parking passes run up $360 A SEMESTER. If you can’t afford that, you find a parking meter and run out of class every 30 minutes to make sure you have’t received a ticket. Most of the meters are broken anyway.

A: And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why i don’t drive.

K: Because not having your G2 has nothing to do with it.

A:

On food a.k.a the deal breaker: 

A: It’s not bad, I guess. I’d do anything for a proper burger joint, but we have Timmies, Second Cup, Pizza Pizza, Subway, and like two cafeterias I’ve never been in because I don’t really eat on campus. I know people like it, though, so I’m totally not complaining. Plus, Second Cup is all I need. Caramel latte, anyone?

K: You have everything you could ever want at your fingertips. You’ll get fat because McDonalds is the cheapest thing there.

J: There’s lots of food trucks. That’s the one thing I’ve noticed. Nothing healthy to be honest, it’s just junk food.

A: *insert shameless promotion of healthy eating blog*

On Athletics: 

A: We have a great gym and lots of athletic teams. Or so I’ve heard. I don’t do sports.

K: Didn’t you say you’d go to the gym?

A: See above gif.

J: Yeah, i don’t know anything about athletics, other than we have some school spirit.

K: We have a hockey team and basketball and soccer? I don’t really pay attention.

A: Well, that question was a

On social life: 

A: PUB NIGHTS. Every Thursday, Different themes. Honestly, how jealous are you?

K: We party in clubs, because downtown. No sororities or anything either.

J: We have a little Greek lifestyle, I guess. The parties suck.


There’s so much more I could tell you about. What’s the culture like in America? What’s the best campus food? Where is your favourite spot? I want to know all of these questions, so maybe there’ll be a part two to this blog. Until then, go compare your schools with your friends. And then just take the time to appreciate you have awesome friends, because as C.S. Lewis said, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.”

Leave a Reply

