I Can’t Believe I’m Really Going To Fall Out Boy

I’d like to take this time to give a shout out to 13-year old me: AHAHAHA YOU JEALOUS?? I’M GOING TO FALL OUT BOY.

I can’t believe I’m going to Fall Out Boy. I can’t believe Fall Out Boy still exists! I’m so excited, I can’t sit still. I suppose I should give you a little bit of background… that background of how I turned punk.


It was the year of 2008, moving into 2009. My best friend, Kajal – hey Kajal, look you’re famous – was in love with a band called Boys Like Girls. She used to sing their songs all the time, and I never got the reference. Conversations went a bit like:

K:  *singing loudly* And your little white socks in the top drawer.

A: I swear, I keep mine in the bottom drawer.

Yeah, I was funny back then too. In all seriousness, I got into it pretty quickly too. Soon enough, we were regaling the playground with our wonderful, angsty singing. It was great.

Our tastes developed into bands like All Time Low, All American Rejects, Secondhand Serenade, Mayday Parade, Blink-182, Green Day, and Dashboard Confessional. Grades 7-11 were an emotionally turbulent time. Kajal and I drifted apart musically for a while. I went into rock, with Metallica, Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, and Rage Against The Machine. Kajal went into Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, Maroon 5, Coldplay, and The Script. We were held together through this separation with mutual love for The Killers, The Fray, Sum 41 and, of course, Fall Out Boy.

Fall Out Boy has been a constant, at the start and at the end of all our random lyric exchanges. Fall Out Boy has been there through all of the ups and downs of middle school, and even those of high school. It’s not hard to see why we have such a connection with Fall Out Boy, especially considering they featured in one of the best shows ever (One Tree Hill).

I’ll leave you with one of my favourite lyrics from Fall Out Boy: “If you are the shores, I am the waves begging for big moons”

P.S. Hi mom, I swear I was gonna tell you before June. I just got super excited when I saw the tickets online. Love you, bye.

Leave a Reply

