The Existential Crisis

What am I doing with my life?

As soon as you’re old enough to think about the future in regards other than dessert after dinner, you’ll be hit with this question. I’d argue it’s dominant from the ages of 15-the day you die, but I’m no psychologist, I just took that one course that one time, so don’t quote me on that. Anyway, it’s been the cause of many breakdowns in my life and soon to be the cause of another. It’s time to start thinking about Subject POSts.

I’m going to be honest with you, I have no idea what POSt stands for. (Edit: It stands for Program of Study and then a random t.) But I know it means having to decide what I’m going to major in and what I want to do and what courses and what path and

And breathe.

Honestly, it’s not as final as it sounds. You can always change your Subject POSt, and you can always change the direction your life is in.

You hate your major? Change it.

You hate your minor? Change it.

I could even take this a step further – if you feel that university is not where you belong, that is okay. Life does not begin and end with school, but it does with education. As long as you get an education – it doesn’t matter if it’s while backpacking in Europe or taking notes in a giant lecture hall. You have the power to make your life anything you want it to be and you shouldn’t let anyone tell you different.

Last point I would like to make is that you’re all so young and you have all the time in the world to figure out what you’re doing with your lives. As Eleanor Roosevelt said “The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”

Leave a Reply

